The NALSAP Board determines which committees will be needed to meet goals for the year and to support the organization’s strategic plan. Although there are some standing committees, many committees are formed to accomplish a specific task, and, once that task is completed, the committee is disbanded. Consequently, there may be more committees one year than there are the next, and the range of opportunities varies accordingly. The NALSAP President determines the specific charges and goals for each committee, and selects committee members from the pool of volunteers. Typically, two calls for NALSAP committee volunteers go out each year: one in the fall and one in the spring. Committee members are appointed for a one-year term.


Standing Committees


Executive Committee

Chair: Macey Lynd Edmondson

The five officers serve as the members of the Executive Committee. Except for the power to amend the Articles of Incorporation and Bylaws, the Executive Committee shall have all the powers and authority of the Board of Directors in the intervals between meetings of the Board of Directors.


Finance Committee

Chair: Emily Scivoletto

The Treasurer is the chair of the Finance Committee, which includes three other Board members. The Finance Committee is responsible for developing and reviewing fiscal procedures, fundraising plans, and the annual budget with staff and other Board members. The Board must approve the budget, and all expenditures must be within budget. Any major change in the budget must be approved by the Board. Annual reports are required to be submitted to the Board showing income, expenditures, and pending income.


Nominating Committee

Chair: Rebekah Grodsky

The Immediate Past President serves as chair of the Nominating Committee, and selects at least two members of the Board of Directors and at least two regular members to serve on the committee. This committee prepares a slate of officers (President-Elect, Secretary, and Treasurer) and regional representatives to fill terms which are expiring, and coordinates the voting process prior to the annual NALSAP Conference in June. 

Conference Committee

Co-Chairs: Jennifer Espinola and Pam Shea

The Conference Committee is responsible for planning the annual NALSAP Conference.


Conference Site Selection

The Conference Site Selection Committee is responsible for selecting the site, subject to Board approval, for the following year’s NALSAP Conference.


Awards and Recognition Committee

Chair: Francine Herlehy

 The Awards and Recognition Committee developed a transparent and objective framework through which NALSAP can meaningfully recognize members and allies who have made outstanding contributions to the field. This committee promotes NALSAP's awards, solicits and reviews nominations, and selects award recipients. Those currently serving on this committee are not eligible to receive NALSAP awards.


Mentorship Committee

Co-Chairs: Misty Franklin and Nicole Sandoz

Composed of both experienced law school student affairs professionals and those newer to the profession, this committee is tasked with expanding on the pilot mentorship program launched at the 2018 NALSAP Conference and fostering meaningful and sustained professional relationships driven by the needs of NALSAP members.


Wellness For Us Committee

Interim Co-Chairs: Rebekah Grodsky and Jennifer DiSanza

This committee is tasked with infusing wellness across the NALSAP organization.


Ad Hoc Committees


Salary and Job Responsibilities Survey Exploratory Committee

Co-Chairs: Rebekah Grodsky and Kaila Mikkelsen

This committee is tasked with exploring the possibility of developing a law school student affairs salary and job responsibilities survey.


Volunteers Needed!


NALSAP needs your help! Please consider volunteering your time to sit on a NALSAP committees or to assist with updating/curating our NALSAP Toolkit Content. The following volunteer positions are currently available, as of February 2020. To apply, please visit the online application formAll applications should be submitted by Friday, February 28.

  • Toolkit Content Curator
  • Toolkit Coordinator/Co-Coordinator
  • Nominating Committee (members)
  • Mentorship Committee (members)
  • Wellness for Us Committee (members and chair)
  • Salary and Job Duties Survey Exploratory Committee (members)

Questions about getting involved? Please reach out to Committee Chairs or to the At-Large Board Representatives (Kaila Mikkelsen and Jennifer DiSanza) who are coordinating the 2020 volunteer recruitment.